The ‘Vax your pet, vax yourself’ event is scheduled for October 9 at the Department of Health.
The Cumberland County Department of Public Health will be hosting a “Vax Your Pet, Vax Yourself” event on October 9 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Department of Health located at 1235 Ramsey St.
Rabies vaccines will cost $ 5 per animal. Vaccinations against COVID, influenza and back to school will be free.
Organizations will distribute free articles and information on programs and services. The Cumberland County Public Library, Positive Parenting Program, Public Health Education Team and Smoking Cessation Education Program will participate. $ 100 gift cards at various grocery and retail stores will be raffled hourly.
The states of North Carolina require cats and dogs over four months of age to be vaccinated against rabies. Cumberland County dog and cat owners who have not vaccinated their pets in accordance with this law are subject to a civil penalty in the amount of $ 100. Cash is the only accepted payment method. Please bring exact change to pay the fee of $ 5 per animal. Please do not bring rolled coins.
North Carolina law requires students in Kindergarten to Grade 12 to receive the vaccines needed to attend school. The back-to-school vaccination list is available at https://immunize.nc.gov/schools/k-12.htm.
North Carolina requires parents to present the required immunization record for their student within 30 calendar days of their child’s first day of attendance. After 30 calendar days, students will no longer be allowed to attend school. This deadline has been extended until November 1.
Flu shots are free for everyone, regardless of insurance status. In case of insured, a copy of the insurance cards will be made and the insurance company will be invoiced.
Children 18 and under can receive a free flu shot through the Vaccines for Children program. Anyone accompanying a minor must present proof of custody.
The Department of Public Health administers the Pfizer and J&J COVID-19 vaccinations. Vaccines are free for everyone, regardless of insurance status. Anyone 12 years of age and older can receive the Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine.
The CDC now recommends that people 65 years of age and older and residents of long-term care facilities receive a booster of Pfizer-BioNTech’s COVID-19 vaccine at least 6 months after their primary series.
People aged 50 to 64 with underlying health conditions should be boosted with Pfizer-BioNTech’s COVID-19 vaccine at least 6 months after their primary series.
People aged 18 to 49 with underlying health conditions may be boosted at least 6 months after their Pfizer-BioNTech primary series, depending on their individual benefits and risks.
Individuals aged 18 to 64 who are at increased risk of exposure and transmission to COVID-19 due to their work or institutional environment may receive a booster of the COVID-19 vaccine from Pfizer-BioNTech at least 6 months after their primary series. This is based on their individual benefits and risks.
For now, recalls are only for those who have received the Pfizer vaccine. The eligibility criteria for those wishing to receive a third dose or an additional booster can be found on the website of the Ministry of Public Health.
The CCDPH sexually transmitted disease clinic will also be open during this event. Confidential tests for HIV, gonorrhea, chlamydia, syphilis and other STDs will be available. The test is free, regardless of insurance status. Walk-ins are welcome.
For more information on Cumberland County Public Health Department programs, visit www.cumberlandcountync.gov/departments/public-health-group/public-health.